Testimonials


There are many things we can say about the high quality of service we provide to our home seller and home buyer clients, but probably none would be as credible as testimonials from some of our recent clients themselves.


So please take a moment to read the following testimonials. we hope they indicate our experience and integrity, as well as make it clear how much we enjoy helping people with their real estate needs.


____________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Marilu was a tremendous help to me throughout the whole process of selling my home. All of her recommendations were based on her extensive knowledge of the current market. She provided me with homes that compared with mine in size, age, updates; and guided me towards establishing a realistic asking price. Marilu was extremely patient, and waited until I was ready to take each next step in the selling process. She was honest yet sensitive to my needs, and always professional. I was thoroughly satisfied with Marilu’s assistance in selling my home, and would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a successful outcome in buying and/or selling a home. Karen Gilmore Tolland CT


____________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Marilu and CK provide excellent guidance during our home sale and purchase process. They are very responsive and have a good understanding of the local market. I would highly recommend them. The Roods, Tolland CT


____________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Marilu, Just wanted to thank you both for all of your advice and assurance throughout this very stressful process.  You were always  prompt at returning all of our phone calls/e-mails and very encouraging when things seemed like they might not happen.  We would highly recommend you as very knowledgeable, experienced and professional realtors. Again, thank you - can't think of anyone we would rather have experienced this with than both of you. Cindy and Reno Paradis, Tolland CT


____________________________________________________________________________________________________________


This was the third time I needed a real estate agent since moving to Connecticut in 2000 and Marilu was my choice each time. Marilu and CK are experts and very responsive whenever I had questions. I would definitely go back to the Kafka team should I need a realtor again. Caroline from 35 Anderson Rd, Tolland




We were very happy to have chosen Marilu and Cornelius (CK) Kafka to help us sell our house in Tolland, CT. Not having sold a house in 30 years we were completely out of touch with the sales process as well as the market and the expectations of buyers in our area. Marilu and CK sell many homes in the Tolland area and understand the real estate market there quite well. They took time to walk us through the process of listing and showing the house and provided a list of do’s and don’ts to follow in preparation for showings. Although we pride ourselves in an attractive house, with a few of Marilu’s furnishings and accents the house showed like a Better Homes & Garden feature house. Marilu & CK were very helpful in reviewing offers and helping us think through the options for response and counter offers. Once a price and terms were agreed upon, CK & Marilu helped us prepare for the buyer’s home inspection and then respond to the inspector’s report of potentially deficient items found. They followed up to make sure we assembled all of the proper paperwork and all of the deficiencies addressed in time for the closing. The closing went smoothly and in fact we did not have to attend.

In summary Marilu & CK made what could be a stressful process clearly understandable and led us through a successful sale of our home. We would recommend Marilu & CK to anyone wishing to sell their home. 

Jane & Phil Moreschi.” Tolland




We sold 2 homes and purchased one home with Marilu and Cornelius as our realtors. We love their professionalism and knowledge of the real estate  market in the area. This helped us to understand how to price the homes and were therefore able to get solid offers in a short time. Marilu has an exquisite flair for adding special touches that helped our homes to show beautifully. I couldn't imagine going through the buying and selling process without the expertise of the Kafka Team! Thank you both! 

Heidi and David - Tolland




Marilu and CK Kafka worked with us on selling our home. They are both extremely professional in their approach and “tell it like it is”.

We were most impressed by their marketing skills and commend them on the marketing brochure they produced for our home. Their on-line pictures highlighted our home to its best advantage. They aggressively use the resources  of the Internet for maketing purposes. We are most appreciative of their services and recommend them to others who need to sell their homes.



George and Janet - Mansfield




Marilu & CK

Rick and I would like to thank you for selling our house.  Trying to sell a house is stressful enough but doing it from a distance could have been extremely stressful.  But thanks to the both of you , you went above and beyond when we needed you.  The journey to sell the house had many twists and turns and you were there at every turn to guide us in the right direction.  We are grateful for the knowledge, professionalism, patience and persistence you demonstrated throughout the entire process.  We wish you both all the best and if we know anyone looking for an agent, we will surely pass on your names.

Thanks so much

Brenda & Rick - Tolland




Martie and I wanted to thank you for helping us sell our house.  We decided to interview several realtors in our process of marketing and selling our home.  We first met you and CK on May 21 during that process.  We liked you comprehensive marketing approach and track record in the Town of Tolland and Tolland County.  We like the fact that you conducted a walk through and helped stage the house with many of Martie’s homemade quilts.  Your suggestions of maintaining the presence help discipline us to keep the house fresh and attractive.

We were ecstatic when our house went under contract at 31 days into the listing on July 6.  You continued to guide us through the inspection phase.

We continued on through the close that took place August 19 and you were there for all of our questions.  We have always prided ourselves on the attractiveness and quality of our house even though it is now 25 years old.  We still could not believe that from listing to close was only 75 days.  You and CK did a wonderful job for us.  We thank you!



Sincerely,



Martie and Mike Groff - Tolland




Suzette and I wanted to let you know how pleased we were with our home sale experience. You and your husband make a good team and we really appreciated your professionalism and counsel.  We were very surprised at how quickly our home sold and felt you did a great job guiding us through the negotiating process.  Your experience and guidance really helped to put us at ease in what can be a very stressful situation.

Thanks again and we would be very confident in recommending your services to others.

 Kelly & Suzette King August 2015




My wife and I recently moved our fourth time and used Marilu & CK.  They know the Tolland market, were responsive to all our questions, and guided us through a lengthy sale and purchase.  In fact we received much more for our house than our neighbors did the month before which was a comparable home.  It’s obvious why they are #1 agent’s in the area.  Professional from start to finish!  

Mike & Kristine Matteo Tolland

_______________________________________________________________________

“As first time home buyers, we were very anxious and excited to begin the search for a home for our growing family.  From the very first showing, Marilu and CK answered all of our questions and, most importantly, made us feel very comfortable throughout the entire process.  There was no pressure or surprises, and they were very good at showing us homes that they felt would be good fits based on our preferences.  They helped us find a perfect home and were great at walking us through the rest of the steps, from inspection to mortgage options to the final closing.  We are now happily settled in our new home, and owe thanks to Marilu and CK!  - Jen, Dan, and Amalia” Vernon

_______________________________________________________________________

My husband and I were extremely lucky to have Marilu and her husband Cornelius (CK) recommended to us.   They were well prepared and very thorough in the information they supplied us about the surrounding homes on the market and homes previously sold.  The recommendations they made to improve the sale of our home turned out to be very beneficial to us.  Marilu never hesitated to answer any questions we had and was always willing to assist us in any way she could. 



The sale and closing of our home went smoothly and we have Marilu and CK to thank for that.  They are true professionals and we recommend them to any future sellers.



Thank you Marilu and CK – you are definitely the “King and Queen” of realtors.  



Al & Joyce Pouliot - Ellington 

________________________________________________________________________

Sue and I both were extremely pleased with the professionalism your agency exhibited throughout the selling process of our home. Your guidance and recommendations allowed us to sell our house in a difficult market and realize our retirement dreams in South Carolina. In summation, we would highly recommend your agency to others for the buying or selling of property in the Tolland area. 



Sue and Patrick, Tolland August 2014

_______________________________________________________________________

We are very pleased to send this recommendation regarding Marilu Kafka, an agent with Berkshire Hathaway. She was very highly recommended to us by some of her previous clients and we were not disappointed.



Marilu has a number of strong attributes. She came to us well informed and well prepared. She had done her homework regarding our home and the neighborhood and what we could expect. We like the fact that she is very direct and is business-like in the best sense of that term. She told us a few things regarding what it would take to sell the house and she was proven right. She did not try to simply ingratiate herself with us. While she was eager to get the house sold she did not push us too hard to either lowball our price or to accept any offer that came. Additionally, she was very helpful in staging our house for showing. This was especially helpful to us. Finally, she and her husband,CK,  (Cornelius) are a fine work team and this represents a two for one deal for their clients.



She is a professional and we heartily can recommend her.



Peter & Nancy Barth

Formerly of Tolland, July CT 2014

_______________________________________________________________________

Please let this email serve as our testimonial on our expedience with the two of you. Both of you were an absolute pleasure to work with when it came to helping us look for new housing and sell our current house.  It was such a advantage to have to two of you at our disposal to be able to call upon with any questions we may have had.  You both always had our best interests in hand and were very patient with our "specific needs and wants" I highly recommend any prospective clients to give you two a chance...I know they will not regret it

Thanks again for all your hard work and dedication

Bill Girasuolo  July 2014




Thank you for everything you did to make selling our home of 23 years such a positive experience.  We hired you because we felt you knew how to properly market our home from fixing it up and getting it ready to sell to staging it to taking professional looking photos and presenting it to the public through all the proper channels on the web.  And we chose well.  Within 30 days we had a viable offer in a slow moving season.

We had already moved out of the area and couldn't be there to keep an eye on the house.  This was concerning to us but your assurances that you would keep an eye on things for us as well as let workers and inspectors in the house and lock up after them put our mind at ease.   

You worked very hard for us as well as maintained a constant communication to help us through all our questions and concerns, right up until our closing. Because we had to go through a relocation company there were many steps and requirements that had to be followed which you were very familiar with.  

We feel your that your hard work, vast knowledge of the market and years of experience selling and buying homes made for a positive experience for us, your clients.  

The Lunmans Tolland June 2014

________________________________________________________________________

Everything is out of the boxes, and put away. With the two kids it never feels routine! We love the new home, and appreciate the work Marilu and you put into helping us sell our old home! Though we have no intent on selling our home anytime soon, we will be sure to send referals your way. Thank you for all your time and patience in our house hunt, and always being redaly available. It made you stand out from others, and made us confident we were working with the best! Enjoy your spring! The Mitchells - Enfield/Somers 2014

_______________________________________________________________________

When looking at listings on Realtor.com, I always found Marilu's properties to be most comparable to the type of home I was looking for.  I was impressed by her very complete and well-presented listings, and her attention to detail.

I was interested in working with Marilu and CK, regardless of which agency they were with.

Marilu and CK were very knowledgeable about the process. They kept things moving right along, and covered all the details along the way.

Jennifer Vertucci - Coventry  December 2013

_______________________________________________________________________

We recently moved to Connecticut because of jobs. We knew clearly that we wanted to build a new house here, but it was quite difficult to carry out as we knew little about this area. Fortunately we contacted Marilu before we moved to Connecticut. She is so knowledgeable and helped us to make the whole process smoother. 



Marilu and CK  know a lot about Tolland and its surrounding areas. They have been very helpful to provide local information, such as builders, school districts, etc. We didn't know the procedure to build a new construction and we had tons of questions. Marilu and CK are very easy to work with. We felt comfortable to ask them  any questions, and they always gave the detailed answers promptly. 



Marilu and CK are very friendly and knowledgeable people.  They are also reliable and passionate about their job. We highly recommend them!  Closed in our Tolland home 11/2013 - 

Damin and Lan-Hsuan Huang

______________________________________________________________________



We found Marilu and Cornelius to be extremely helpful, professional, and responsive. Moving from Chicago to Connecticut, we were generally unfamiliar with many of the towns, and Marilu was always willing to show us around and offer her insight into communities, school systems, and neighborhoods. She showed significant expertise when we toured houses, and helped us by pointing out potential problems or benefits that we may have missed on our own. She also showed great flexibility and patience with our schedules, since we had to fly out to Connecticut multiple times until we found the right house for us. Overall, Marilu and Cornelius were exceptionally helpful throughout the process, and we are happy to recommend them to anyone looking to buy a home in the area.

8/2013

Shawn and Tabitha McKown, Tolland CT

______________________________________________________________________

Marilu and CK were terrific realtors. We have done numerous real estate transactions throughout the years.  They were professional and handled some difficult situations with a great deal of ease.  They truly represented our interests.  Marilu was very helpful in contacting and setting up needed contractors for some work we required to do before the sale was final. They  marketed our house in a spectacular manner, but their work after the purchase and sale and before passing papers proved to be the most valuable asset. Honestly the best realtors we have ever used. 

 The McCarthys, Mansfield CT 2013

______________________________________________________________________

The Kafka team did an excellent job in the recent sale of our home. Right from the start Marilu and CK were professional, well prepared and very knowledgeable.  They did extensive research documenting recent activity in the housing market, and this enabled us to set a fair price and to respond to offers.  Marilu has an uncanny eye for staging a home in the most effective and appealing way and CK's virtual tour was extremely well done.  Our home sold quickly and the Kafkas were with us at every stage of the selling process -- from arranging showings to responding to inspection issues.  Thank you CK and Marilu for a job very well done!

Peter and Trudy Nicholls, Tolland - 21 Noah Lane, 2013

___________________________________________________________________

It was a win/win situation with the Kafka Team!  Thanks to Marilu and CK for their professional and efficient service.  When selling a house each day feels like a week so we especially appreciated the constant contact we shared.  We would recommend them to anyone.  

Satisfied Customers from Tolland - 2013

_____________________________________________________________________



It was a win/win situation with the Kafka Team! Thanks to Marilu and CK for their professional and efficient service. When selling a house each day feels like a week so we especially appreciated the constant contact we shared. We would recommend them to anyone. 

Satisfied Customers from Tolland - 2013

_____________________________________________________________________



"We would like to thank Marilu and Cornelius for helping us to sell our home in Tolland.  We were given excellent advice and help in pricing, marketing, and staging our home.  They really made our home shine. The process of selling a home can be stressful, but the Kafka team gave us the support we needed.  We were pleased to sell our home quickly, and move on to the next chapter of our lives.  We highly recommend Marilu and Cornelius Kafka for buying and selling a home." La Fleches - December 2012

_______________________________________________________________________

"Given that my husband and I were first time homebuyers, we were certainly very overwhelmed by the prospect of buying and owning our own home.  From the first meeting with Marilu, we knew that she would guide us in the right direction and help us find the home that would be truly ours. She told us that we would "just know", and she was absolutely correct.  It turned out to be such a positive experience and Marilu and CK were there with us every step of the way.  From providing us names of home inspectors, attorneys, etc to actually coming out during a Nor'easter to accompany us through our final walk through, they were always present!   They were always very clear and helpful about what needed to be done in each step of the process. They made what is normally one of the most stressful times of your life into a wonderful experience.  We would highly recommend this team to anyone purchasing for e first time, or even fifth time!"



Thanks again for everything!!

Aimee and Brian Moore  - November 2012

______________________________________________________________________

Being first time home buyers, we were very unfamiliar with the entire process from selecting a property to closing. Marilu and Cornelius helped us every step of the way, from answering numerous questions and to offering all the support needed to get through the transaction. Their professionalism and care for our family were second to none. We would highly recommend Marilu and Cornelius to any prospective home buyer looking for a great realtor! The Olins - Lebanon November 2012

______________________________________________________________________

You guys did not disappoint!  We had positive reviews going it and those proved to be absolutely true....  All in all, a first class experience - the best real estate representation we've ever had. 

The Mullers, Tolland October 2012

_____________________________________________________________________

We just wanted to drop you a quick note to thank for your assistance in marketing and selling our home.  We found both of you to be highly knowledgeable in all aspects of the sale our home including pricing, staging, and electronic marketing.  Not only were you both responsive to our inquiries, but guided us through the process with sage advice.  Once again, thank you for all your efforts, as you made the sale of our seventeen year family residence completely seamless and stress free. 

The Claytons - July 2012

_______________________________________________________________________

While my need to sell a home was due to an unfortunate circumstance, Marilu was extremely valuable in reducing the level of stress that I would have otherwise been under. 



From the beginning, Marilu and her husband were very professional and came to my home prepared with extensive research to help price and stage the home. She was able to reorganize furniture and add accents to make the house "pop" in a buyer's eye. Her pictures and descriptions were excellent, and as a result we had an offer OVER asking price in only 2 weeks. 



The transaction had some bumps in the road due to a lack of communication from the other side, but Marilu stayed on top of the situation and was able to keep us informed as best as possible. 

I'd highly recommend Marilu if you want to sell a home quickly. She pays attention to the details and is very good at marketing a home. She turned what was a very stressful situation into one that went very smoothly.  July 2012  The Mehtas

________________________________________________________________________

We put our house on the market two months ago and with their help from pricing to staging we sold it. They are extremely talented and understand the buyer and sellers market. I would recommend them to anyone interested in buying or selling a home. You will not be dissatisfied!! 

The Bartholomays, Tolland Dec 2011-

________________________________________________________________________



Selling our home in Tolland was made much easier thanks to Marilu and Cornelius, they made a difficult job much easier. The advertising they did and the personal interest they showed lead to a quick sale, much quicker than we had expected. It is always a pleasure to do business with someone who gives 110 percent for her clients, it made us feel that during a time that was difficult for us and very confusing, we had someone that we could talk to and would offer us good old fashioned and honest advice.

If ever we can recommend a realtor, it will be them, they are truly the greatest!

Thank you,

John and Marion - Tolland Nov 2011

_________________________________________________________________

Marilu was wonderful to work with, she met with us at our home and was professional and fair about the housing market and our competition. Though our home was expected to remain on the market for entire year, we sold our home in 5 weeks thanks to our teamwork with Marilu...Oh and within the the time we sold our home she found us the house of our dreams...within one week in August we sold our home and had an offer accepted on a new home, ALL Thanks to Marilu!! She was very supportive through the inspection process and referred great professionals to ensure all work completed was top notch and timely to support the closing. We would happily refer Marilu to anyone looking to buy or sell their home. The Carneys Tolland CT December 2011

_________________________________________________________________

Marilu was a pleasure to work with from the beginning. Initially, we met informally to discuss the possibility of putting our house on the market. She discussed what needed to be done in order to place it on the market. Was very upfront with us about the market and competition. 

We took her advice and did some updating and staged appropriately in order to compete with some of the newer homes. We worked very hard, alongside Marilu, to have it presentable at the time it was placed on the market and for our Open House. Much to our delight, our house was sold in 7 days. With this market, we were very pleased. 

Marilu is about as prompt as one can be - returned phone calls and emails almost immediately. 

Thanks, Marilu, for your assistance, direction and patience throughout the process. 

The Augellos - Tolland, CT - October 2011

_________________________________________________________________

Selling our house was definitely made easier by working with Marilu.  From the very start, we took her advice on staging our home and pricing.  

Marilu always made us feel like we were her only clients as she was always available for our phone calls and questions.  With today's economic conditions, this could have been a very stressful situation, but we always knew we were in good hands with Marilu. 

We truly believe that it would have been so much more stressful had Marilu not provided us with such close attention.  

Kevin and Mary Jane Higgins, 81 Williams Way, Tolland October 2011



Marilu helped us navigate our home sale in a tough market and went above and beyond on more than one occasion; we highly recommend her!” The Rudolphs, Tolland 2011

______________________________________________________________________

Many things about Marilu: Excellent Attention to Details & Follow Up: Excellent Availability / Responsiveness: Excellent Negotiation Skills: Excellent Organization & Preparation: Excellent Written Market Analysis: Excellent Marketing Strategy: Excellent Why did you select MARILU KAFKA?: Many listings in Tolland.

Why did you select Prudential Connecticut Realty? Very active in Tolland.

Would you recommend MARILU KAFKA? Yes

Did you use the Internet in your home search? No () What was most memorable about your experience? Sale in 2 days.

Comments: Marilu was a pleasure to work with. Very professional with a nice personal touch. Tolland, Rabinowitz 2011

_________________________________________________________________

"Marilu is an excellent marketer. She is professional, detailed, and efficient with an eye for good taste while also paying attention to details and her clients wishes and limitations. She is a good listener and catches the little things while always pointing at the goal of a sale which the market will permit." 

Service Category: Real Estate Agent

Year first hired: 2009

Top Qualities: Great Results, Personable, Expert 

The Harpers, Woodstock CT 2011

________________________________________________________

"Marilu provided exceptional service in all phases or our real estate purchase: searching for property, negotiating with the home owner and all of the post-contract details. She saved us tremendous amounts of time and effort. An additional bonus was she was very pleasant to work with. I would use her services again should the need arise." 

The Brenners 2009-2010

________________________________________________________

Marilu keep track of all customers that look at our home and sold our home at a time that no houses were moving. He gave us good advice on what was need it for us to move the home and did a ton of open houses for us. We are glad that we had her as an agent." 

Service Category: Real Estate Agent

Year first hired: 2010

The Baronios